It can be hard to know what you should do if the other driver in a Jacksonville car accident doesn’t have insurance. You should always contact local police and insist on filing a car accident report. Avoid the temptation to deal with the at-fault driver or even your own insurer on your own, and consider hiring a car accident lawyer.
A lawyer can help you understand how to explore the coverage of your insurance policy. Your car accident lawyer can also help you understand, correctly interpret, and meet the applicable statute of limitations if you choose to file a personal injury lawsuit.
Always Get A Police Report After An Accident In Jacksonville
In the immediate aftermath of the accident, you and anyone else injured in the accident should seek medical attention. You should also report the accident to the police immediately. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), state law requires the filing of a police report for any car accident when:
- The accident resulted in injuries to anyone in either vehicle.
- The accident resulted in the fatality of anyone in either vehicle.
- The accident resulted in more than $500 in vehicle damage.
If you are represented by a Jacksonville car accident lawyer, they will obtain a copy of your police report and use it to glean important information that supports your right to post-accident compensation.
Even if the at-fault driver offers to cover the costs of the accident out of their own pocket, you should insist on calling the local police to the scene. Your police report will tell your lawyer key names and contact details and the accident’s causes and contributing factors. It will also note points of impact, vehicle damage, readily apparent injuries, and witness recollections.
Review Your Case With A Car Accident Lawyer Near You
In the state of Florida, you can attempt to settle your case with your insurance provider on your own. If the uninsured driver has assets, you could also attempt to sue them on your own. Either action could benefit, though, from the legal guidance and direction of a car accident attorney. Their familiarity with state and local law means they can:
- Ensure no recoverable damages are overlooked
- File your insurance claim or lawsuit
- Document the at-fault driver’s negligence
- Collect and review your insurance policy
- Handle all case-related communication
- Clarify complex legal terminology and jargon
- Protect you from an unfair settlement
- Provide ongoing updates on your case
- Negotiate a favorable monetary settlement
- Represent you in court, if necessary
Most personal injury lawyers will review your case at no cost, explain its merits, and calculate your recoverable damages. Your lawyer will also represent you in court if you cannot resolve your case with a financial settlement.
Tap Into Your Uninsured Motorist Coverage In Jacksonville, FL
All drivers insured in accordance with Florida law are required to have personal injury protection (PIP) coverage, according to Florida Office of Insurance Regulation (FLOIR) guidelines.
Without regard to fault, PIP will cover:
- The majority (80%) of accident-related medical care up to $10,000
- Most (60%) of accident-related lost wages up to $10,000
- Funeral and burial costs (up to $5,000) for car accident fatalities
PIP applies to other drivers, passengers, and pedestrians. If you suffered injuries in an accident when the other driver lacks insurance, you may be able to make a claim with your own insurer if you carry underinsured or uninsured motorist coverage (UM/UIM).
Your lawyer will explain your coverage options and the compensation you can seek from your insurance provider. Your policy may cover unpaid medical expenses and the costs of repairing or replacing your damaged or destroyed vehicle.
How The Statute Of Limitations Affects Your Car Accident Case
Most car accident cases—including cases where you seek compensation from your own insurance company—are settled out of court. To protect your right to go to court if a settlement cannot be reached, your lawyer will:
- File your personal injury lawsuit within four years of the date of the accident, in accordance with Florida Statutes § 95.11(3)(a)
- File your family’s wrongful death lawsuit within two years of the date of your loved one’s demise, in accordance with Florida Statutes § 95.11(4)(d)
Failure to comply with the applicable statute could mean you have no legal recourse that compels compensation. The sooner you get a law firm involved in your case, the more time they have to ensure it is filed on time and your right to compensation is not at risk.
Call 24/7 For A Free Review Of Your Car Accident Case
Do you know what you should do if the other driver in a Jacksonville car accident doesn’t have insurance? We do.
At the Law Offices of Anidjar & Levine, we go the extra mile for you. You worry about getting better; we can take care of everything else. Contact our case review team today to find out how hard we go to bat for you.
We Can Help.