How to Get a Car Accident Police Report in Orlando, FL? You can get a copy of your car accident police report in Orlando by requesting it online, in person, or by mail.

You can get a car accident police report in Orlando, FL, in several ways. The most convenient way is to request the report online using the state’s online portal. You can also request reports by mail or in person.

If your car accident occurred before 2002, you will need to contact the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), the state’s official storehouse for crash records. You can email them at CrashRecords@flhsmv.gov. Any of these methods will result in your receiving an official car accident police report from your Orlando, FL, accident so you can submit it to your insurance company.

For a free legal consultation, call (800) 747-3733

When Is an Accident Report Required in Florida?

One of the first steps to take after any collision is to file an accident report. Doing so may even be required in your case, depending on the circumstances of the crash. In Florida, Florida Statutes § 316.066 outlines that a traffic crash report must be filed within 10 days if the incident involved:

  • Pain, discomfort, or injuries – including fatal injuries – for any parties 
  • An intoxicated driver
  • A driver who fled the scene
  • Significant property damage, totaling one or more vehicles or causing at least $500 in damage
  • A commercial vehicle

Even if the accident doesn’t require a report, it is generally beneficial to file one anyway. This document serves as an official record of the collision, which is essential for proving certain facts when seeking compensation from your insurance company or the liable party.

Though law enforcement will often file a traffic crash report automatically, it’s worth knowing how to file one in case you need to do so manually.

How to File a Car Accident Report With the Police

There are two ways to report a collision. For cases involving the factors above, the officers who respond to the scene will fill out the report and submit it when complete. However, law enforcement does not always investigate more minor accidents. In that case, you can self-report the collision to FLHSMV either online or by mail. 

You can visit FLHSMV’s Crash Portal to download the proper form. Once you’ve filled it out completely, you can email it to SelfReportCrashes@flhsmv.gov or mail it to: 

Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles

Crash Records

2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 28

Tallahassee, FL 32399

Requesting an Orlando Car Accident Police Report Online

According to the City of Orlando, car crash reports are typically available online between three and five days after the car accident. You can use the Orlando Police Department’s LexisNexis Police Reports portal to request your police accident report. 

Note that crash reports for accidents that occurred elsewhere in Orange County are available through the Orange County Sheriff’s Office Records Department

Lastly, you can also request records through the FLHSMV Crash Portal.

Eligibility Criteria to Request a Report Online

To request a copy of your crash report using the city or state’s online portal, you will need to meet certain eligibility criteria, as follows:

  1. You must either be the driver involved in the crash or otherwise named on the police accident report as an individual involved in the collision.
  2. The collision must have occurred after 2011 or later.
  3. The collision must have occurred within the city of Orlando, FL.

Information You Will Need to File Your Request Online

Before you begin the online accident report request form, take a moment to gather all the information you will need, including:

  • Your accident case number
  • The date of your car accident
  • The name of the driver
  • Your credit card number or debit card number (the report costs $10)

Once you enter this information in the required request form information and pay the $10 for your report, it will be made instantly available to you via the LexisNexis website. 

Limitations for Online Crash Report Requests

Florida Statutes set the price of $10 for each police accident report you receive. You will also be charged a $2 convenience fee through the online portal. In addition, you may not request more than 10 reports per transaction.

You must download your accident report within 48 hours of requesting it, using a download link that is emailed to you.

Contact our lawyers today!

Requesting a Car Accident Police Report in Person or Via Mail

If you are trying to obtain a crash report either in person or via postal mail prior to the 60-day availability window (see “Provisions…” below), you will also have to fill out a sworn statement to obtain a crash report from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

Requests Made in Person

If you need 10 or fewer car accident records, you can make your request for the records at the Florida Highway Patrol (FHP) station that is geographically closest to the site of the car accident.

Requests Made Via Mail

However, if you are going to request more than 10 records, you will have to write a request letter that describes the crash report you want, along with a signed statement, if the request is being made within the 60-day window after the crash occurred. You will need to mail this information, along with your payment in a check or money order made out to FLHSMV, to the following address:

Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles

Crash Records

2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 28

Tallahassee, FL 32399

With this method, you will receive your requested reports between four to six weeks after submitting your request.

Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now

Provisions About Accident Reports Outlined in Florida Statutes

As specified by Florida Statutes § 316.066, unless you are involved in the car accident in question or are otherwise permitted by language in the statute, you will have to wait 60 days after the police accident report is filed before you can access it.

Florida statutes also strictly prohibit the unlawful disclosure of or the unlawful attempt to obtain confidential personal information.

The Importance of Obtaining a Car Accident Report

A car accident report is generally considered critical evidence in any car accident case. This document:

  • Establishes that a collision occurred
  • Outlines important details about the accident, including who was involved
  • May suggest fault on the part of one or more parties

Even if the state does not require you to report your collision, the insurance company may request this document before approving a damage claim. 

What Information does an Accident Report Contain?

Insurers and attorneys use accident reports to verify numerous details about a collision to approve/deny or build/discredit compensation claims, respectively. Some of the details these reports often contain include:

  • The names and contact information of all known involved parties
  • A list of witnesses and their contact information
  • A description of the vehicles
  • The date, time, and location of the accident
  • Any potential contributing factors, such as adverse road or weather conditions
  • Information collected from the parties involved
  • A list of injuries and damage to vehicles and property that occurred
  • Whether the officers issued any citations against one or more parties

When you hire a lawyer to handle your Orlando car accident case, they can help you get the accident report and use this information to build your claim.

Let a Florida Car Accident Lawyer Handle Getting Your Accident Reports…and Everything Else

You should not have to handle all the details of filing a claim or personal injury lawsuit as you struggle emotionally and physically after your accident. A car accident lawyer that serves the injured can get a car accident police report in Orlando, FL, investigate your accident, gather evidence, and interview witnesses so you can focus on getting better.

The Law Offices of Anidjar & Levine will provide you with responsive legal care and go the extra mile to recover the damages you deserve after your car accident. Call us today for a free case review: (407) 500-4000.