Uber has changed the way we travel across the world. With Uber, customers may hitch a ride to any place they wish to go. However, this convenience is not without risk. Uber drivers don’t receive specific training for their professions. In addition, they may be behind the wheel for extended periods while traversing unfamiliar territory.
As a result, passengers should be aware of the likelihood of an Uber ridesharing accident. These sorts of car accidents can happen at any moment and leave drivers, passengers, and pedestrians severely injured. Did you sustain injuries in a ridesharing crash? Then, let the Lakeland Uber accident lawyers at the Law Offices of Anidjar & Levine fight for the compensation you need to ensure your bills don’t overwhelm your family’s finances.
How does Uber’s Car Insurance Work?
Uber has commercial auto insurance in place that could cover drivers, passengers, and pedestrians following a crash involving one of its drivers. Three scenarios are possible.
An Accident Happened While The App Was Turned Off
If the driver is offline or the Driver app is powered off, the Uber driver’s insurance policy applies. You could not claim against Uber’s car insurance.
An Accident Happened While the App Was Powered on, and the Driver Waited for a Ride
In this scenario, Uber’s third-party liability policy might cover the injured parties. On behalf of the driver, Uber covers the following:
- $50,000 in bodily injury per person
- $100,000 in bodily injury per person
- $25,000 in property damage per accident
he Accident Occurs While the Driver Was Picking Up Or Transporting Passengers
Uber provides the following coverage for accident victims in this scenario:
- $1,000,000 in third-party liability
- Uninsured/underinsured motorists’ bodily injury or first-party injury insurance
- Collision and comprehensive coverage on a case-by-case basis
For a free legal consultation with a uber accidents lawyer serving Lakeland, 800-747-3733
hat If an Uber Driver Collides With My Vehicle?
Since Florida is a no-fault state, you should first file a claim with your insurance company if an Uber driver collides with your car.
As part of the no-fault law, all Lakeland drivers must have personal injury protection insurance, which can pay up to $10,000 in medical expenses. You must seek medical care within 14 days of the accident to be eligible.
If your coverage does not cover all your expenses, you could then claim against the Uber driver or the company. However, your injuries must meet a standard of severity set by Florida Statutes § 627.737(2) to qualify:
- Significant scars or disfigurement
- Permanent disabling injury (e.g., paralysis or traumatic brain injury)
- Significant and permanent loss of a bodily function (e.g., loss of vision)
LakelandUber Accident Lawyer Near Me 800-747-3733
When Can You Hold Uber Responsible for an Accident Caused By One Of Its Drivers?
You might find it challenging to file a lawsuit against Uber because the company considers its drivers as independent contractors instead of employees. However, some rules and regulations govern who can become a rideshare driver in Lakeland.
To work as an Uber driver in Lakeland, a person must meet the following requirements:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Have a valid driver’s license for at least a year
- Have a Florida driver’s license, registration, and insurance coverage in their name
- Have a car that is 15 years old or newer
- Have a four-door automobile that is in decent shape and free of aesthetic problems
- Not have any commercial markings on their car
If Uber knowingly allows one of its drivers to violate these regulations, you could hold the company responsible. One of our Uber accident attorneys serving Lakeland can ensure you don’t bear the cost of the company’s negligent hiring practices.
Statutes of Limitations on Uber Accident Claims
Get Answers From An Experienced Attorney.SPEAK TO AN ATTORNEY NOW
What to Do If You’ve Been Involved in a Lakeland Uber Accident
The steps to take following an Uber accident in Lakeland resemble those you’d take following any car crash.
Seek Medical Attention
Before doing anything else, make sure you check yourself and other passengers for injuries. If you require immediate assistance, call 911 and request medical aid.
Submit a Police Report
Even if everyone escapes the accident uninjured, you should still report the incident to the authorities.
Florida Statutes § 316.065 requires you to report an Uber accident to the Florida Highway Patrol or the police when:
- Anyone suffered an injury or died in the crash
- A vehicle or other property sustained at least $500 in damage
However, regardless of whether the law mandates you to report the crash, you should call the police and have the officer file a report. Any insurance claim or lawsuit you fill will require proof of the accident that the report will document.
Document the Accident
You’ll need to obtain everyone’s names, phone numbers, and insurance information at the accident scene. You’ll also want to speak with witnesses and take photos or videos of the scene if possible.
If you or anybody else suffered an injury in an accident while traveling in an Uber, you should notify Uber. You can do so through the app or by calling its customer service team.
Obtain The Services of a Lakeland Uber Accident Attorney
An Uber accident attorney serving the Lakeland area could help you navigate the complexities of filing a claim and get you compensation for the collision.
Lakeland Uber AccidentsYOU CAN TRUST US 800-747-3733
The Law Offices Of Anidjar & Levine Could Help You Receive Compensation
Our team can help you pick up the pieces following an Uber accident. First, we’ll help you schedule appointments and get your car fixed, allowing you to worry about getting better as we take care of everything else. Then, we’ll gather evidence and put together a compelling case that secures the compensation you need to ensure the accident doesn’t leave your family in financial ruin.
Allow us to fight for what you deserve. Call us today to get started.
We want to put our knowledge, experience, and resources to work for you.SPEAK TO AN ATTORNEY NOW