Miramar Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyer After a hit-and-run accident, you may be wondering how you can seek the compensation you need.

In 2021, there were over 400,000 accidents in Florida, per the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). If you, unfortunately, got into a car accident, you are not alone. However, facing a hit-and-run accident can leave you feeling overwhelmed and unsure of your legal options. 

These cases can be complicated, but you may be able to take action and get the compensation you need for your recovery. A Miramar hit-and-run attorney from the Law Offices of Anidjar & Levine may be able to help. 

For a free legal consultation with a hit-and-run accidents lawyer serving Miramar, call (800) 747-3733

Ways to Receive Compensation for a Hit-and-Run Accident

There are three common ways you can receive compensation after being a victim of a hit-and-run accident.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Insurance

Drivers could seek compensation for their injuries under no-fault insurance law.

All Florida drivers are required by law to have at least $10,000 in personal injury protection insurance. However, there are some important caveats when you seek compensation for your accident expenses:

  • Treatment designated as an emergency gets the fullest PIP coverage. Your PIP insurance will cover 80% of your expenses. 
  • Non-emergency care can be reimbursed only partially. You can get $2,500 in coverage for non-emergent costs. 

PIP will also cover 60% of your lost wages, or up to $10,000, under Florida law. Your lost wages could include your missed paychecks as well as compensation for essential tasks that you couldn’t complete while injured. 

Finally, if you lost a loved one to a car accident in Miramar, you can get compensation through your PIP coverage. This includes: 

  • $5,000 towards funeral and burial costs
  • End-of-life medical expenses
  • Lost wages for your family

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Protection

Uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM) coverage is intended to assist people with their accident-related expenses if they’re hit by an uninsured driver. This can also be used in the event of a hit-and-run accident. After all, if the other driver flees the scene, they’re effectively an uninsured driver for the purposes of your case. 

This type of insurance is not required by law. However, if you elected this type of coverage when you purchased your policy, you could seek compensation up to your policy limits. 

Even if you have UM coverage, you may have trouble getting reimbursed by your insurance company. If your insurance company refuses to pay you compensation under your UM coverage, a Miramar car accident lawyer can claim damages to get you the money you deserve.

A Personal Injury Claim

If the police ultimately find the responsible driver, you could have even more options available. You could file a lawsuit and seek additional types of compensation, such as for your pain and suffering. However, you or your lawyer will need to have evidence showing that the liable driver was at fault and your injuries were serious. 

Serious injuries consist of those that cost more than $10,000 to treat. However, a lawyer from our team can explain your options and clarify if your injuries could qualify as serious.

Miramar Hit-and-Run Accidents Lawyer Near Me (800) 747-3733

Common Hit-and-Run Situations

Hit-and-run accidents are often the result of another driver’s recklessness. Common hit-and-run accidents situations include a driver who:

  • Hits a pedestrian on the shoulder of a highway or road
  • Is distracted from the road—such as by a phone, a conversation, music, or other factors—and collides with another vehicle or person, then continues driving
  • Is unconcerned about those around them and tries to ignore the consequences of their actions
  • Leaves an accident while under the influence of other drugs in order to avoid being arrested
  • Is a criminal driving stolen vehicles or eluding law enforcement

All of these are serious offenses under Florida law. If the hit-and-run driver is apprehended, they may be held liable if they were the cause of the accident. A driver who flees the scene of an accident can be charged under Florida Statute 316.027. If a person flees the scene of an accident, they may face the following charges:

  • A misdemeanor of the second degree
  • A felony charge of the second or third degree (if the victim is injured)
  • A felony charge in the first degree (if the victim is killed)

Contact our Miramar Car Accident Lawyers today!

What to do If You Are a Victim of a Hit-and-Run

If you’ve been the victim of a hit-and-run, there are steps you should take right away:

  • Make a police report by calling the police. This serves as a record of the hit-and-run. The police will assist in the search for the perpetrator.
  • Take photographs and document the scene. After an accident, take pictures and notes to help prove your damages.
  • Go see a doctor. Check yourself for injuries. Even if your injuries from car accidents aren’t immediately apparent or minor, it’s critical that you get checked out for your own health and to have proof of your injuries.
  • Identify any potential witnesses and obtain their contact information. Witnesses may be able to provide crucial information in the case. They might have gotten a glimpse of the car or even the license plate number. 
  • Consult a lawyer’s office. A personal injury attorney from our team has the experience, legal knowledge, and resources to help you get the compensation you deserve. When the perpetrator cannot be located, compensation can still be sought from other sources, such as your car insurance company.

Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now

A Miramar Car Accident Lawyer Can Assist You After a Hit-and-Run

Our Miramar car accident lawyers at the Law Offices of Anidjar & Levine are well-versed in how to navigate hit-and-run accident claims. We’ve worked hard to ensure that hit-and-run victims receive the compensation they deserve. We may be able to do the same for you.

You could have legal options if you were injured in a hit-and-run accident. Learn more by calling our team for a free, no-obligation consultation. We will listen to your story and offer you a free case review, then assist you in determining the best course of action.