In places like Cutler Bay and surrounding areas of South Dade, known for their high traffic and congestion, car accidents happen all too often. If you or someone you love was injured in an auto accident, you might be entitled to compensation.
A Cutler Bay car accident lawyer at the Law Offices of Anidjar & Levine can help you pursue damages. We offer a free case evaluation to learn the specifics of your case, explain the legal process, and answer all your questions.
For a free legal consultation with a car accidents lawyer serving Cutler Bay, call (800) 747-3733
Limitations of PIP Insurance
Florida is a no-fault state that requires you to file a claim against your insurance policy in a car crash. Since the state only requires a minimum of $10,000 of personal injury protection (PIP), many drivers only get that much. This seems fine until an accident happens. Suddenly, $10,000 isn’t enough to cover all your medical bills or necessary time off from work. And that’s if your insurance company approves the claim, assuming you have insurance at all. A report by the Insurance Research Council shows 20% of Florida drivers travel daily without insurance.
If your PIP doesn’t cover all your expenses, won’t cover your expenses, or you don’t have insurance, having a car accident lawyer by your side can mean the difference between unbearable financial hardship and worry-free recovery.
Cutler Bay Car Accidents Lawyer Near Me (800) 747-3733
Our Car Accident Attorneys Will Handle Every Aspect of Your Case
Our law office gives each car accident case personal attention. In the haze of your wreck, you may not know where to start or have the wherewithal to see an insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit through. So let us do the worrying for you. Our car accident attorneys will take care of your case by:
- Providing frequent case updates
- Managing all communications
- Collecting evidence
- Gathering supportive documentation
- Representing you in settlement negotiations
- Helping you file your insurance claim
- Filing a lawsuit, if necessary
- Representing you in court
Per Florida Statutes § 95.11, the statute of limitations is four years for personal injury cases. Working fast and efficiently is one of our keys to success. We will get started on your case immediately to ensure you meet all applicable deadlines.
Types of Compensable Damages Available in Car Accidents
We will closely examine all losses you suffered due to your accident. Florida law allows victims of motor vehicle accidents to recover economic and non-economic damages. Therefore, we quantify the total value of your losses so that we can demand a fair payout. For example, your car wreck may have left you with the following economic damages:
- Inpatient or outpatient hospital care
- Lost wages
- Reduced ability to earn
- Car repairs or property damage
- Prescription drugs
- Emergency care
- Physical therapy
- Medical supplies and equipment
Your non-economic damages could encompass a wide range of physical, emotional, or psychological injuries. These losses could include:
- Ongoing pain
- Mental anguish
- Emotional distress
- Reduced enjoyment of life
- Diminished quality of life
- Physical impairments
- PTSD and other psychological disorders
- Broken bones and loss of limbs or digits
To ascertain the full scope of your injuries, we will investigate your accident and gather documents that prove them, such as
- Medical records
- Relevant bills and receipts
- Professional estimates
- Timesheets, schedules, other documentation showing time off from work
- Expert testimony
- Other important accident-related documents
We will work to build a compelling case to secure the maximum monetary award and get you back on your feet.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Our Law Firm Works on a Contingency-Fee Basis
Since we work on a contingency basis, it costs you nothing to have our firm by your side. Our consultations are always free, and we don’t earn a dime unless you get paid. So, you can rest assured that we will fight for a positive outcome of your case.
Options for Recovering Losses
Despite some recent much-needed changes to improve safety on our busy streets, accidents still happen. That’s why Florida law requires every driver to purchase personal injury protection. This type of insurance covers 80% of your medical expenses, 60% of your lost wages, and 100% of any replacement services you require as you recover. However, it does not cover pain and suffering.
You May Be Eligible to File a Third-Party Liability Claim
PIP does not cover pain and suffering; however, state law allows for injured car accident victims to pursue the at-fault party in a third-party liability claim for the scope of their losses if they meet the legal threshold. You can go after the full amount of medical expenses and lost wages along with pain and suffering if:
- You suffered significant impairment to important bodily functions
- Have permanent injuries
- Suffered severe scarring and disfigurement
- Death occurred
Bodily Injury Liability Insurance
If the at-fault party has bodily injury liability insurance, you will file a claim against their coverage for your losses. The extra protection covers any damages suffered by victims of the driver’s negligence. It is also called third-party liability coverage. Their insurance company would represent them in court if necessary.
Uninsured Motorist Protection
If the other driver is uninsured, you may be able to file a claim under your uninsured motorist protection (UM). If you purchased this coverage, it kicks in if the at-fault driver is uninsured and you have met the threshold for a third-party liability claim. Your damages for expenses, lost income, and pain and suffering would come from this coverage.
Property Damage Liability
Damage to your vehicle or other property involved in the accident is covered by the negligent party’s property damage liability insurance (PDL). This is the only other mandatory vehicle insurance under Florida law. The state requires a minimum of $10,000 of coverage.
At-Fault Drivers with no Insurance
If the at-fault party does not have insurance, you can still sue them personally to cover your losses. The state of Florida also offers help in making sure they pay if you win in court. The state authorizes the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to suspend their license until the total amount is paid or up to 20 years.
Contact Our Office to Receive a Free Car Accident Case Evaluation Today
If you’ve suffered due to the negligence of a`3 nother driver in Cutler Bay, a car accident lawyer is here to provide legal help. Call the Law Offices of Anidjar & Levine at 1-800-747-3733 for a free consultation today.