If you suffer from hand and wrist pain following a car accident, you could have a sprain, fracture, or other injuries. If you have not already done so, you should seek a medical diagnosis and treatment from a health care provider.
You may also be able to hold a negligent driver liable for your losses.
When Should You See a Doctor?
Minor hand and wrist injuries may heal with rest, ice, and the use of over-the-counter pain medications, but more severe injuries may require medical intervention. You should see a doctor even if your hand or wrist injury seems minor. Failing to seek proper treatment for your injuries may lead to incorrect healing, a reduced range of motion, or a disability.
Additionally, medical documentation can help prove your damages when filing an insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit.
For a free legal consultation 800-747-3733
How are Hand and Wrist Injuries Diagnosed?
According to Mayo Clinic, sudden impacts can cause wrist sprains, strains, and fractures. MedlinePlus lists fractures, dislocations, and ruptured ligaments as common hand injuries. Your doctor may use one or more of the following diagnostic tests to determine the exact cause of your hand or wrist pain:
- CT scans
If you suffer from hand and wrist pain after a car accident, there is a chance you endured a serious injury. The impact from the collision may have caused your hand to strike the steering wheel or dashboard.
How Are Hand and Wrist Injuries Treated?
Treatment for hand and wrist injuries will vary depending on the type of injury and its severity. Treatment options include:
- Prescription pain medications
- Casts and/or splints
- Physical therapy
- Surgery to repair bones, tendons, and/or ligaments
Get Answers From An Experienced Attorney.SPEAK TO AN ATTORNEY NOW
Seeking Compensation for Your Hand and Wrist Injuries
You can submit a claim for your hand and wrist injuries with your personal injury protection (PIP) insurance provider. According to Florida Statutes § 627.736(a), your PIP coverage should pay up to 80 percent of your medical care, including diagnostic testing, surgeries, and rehabilitation services. However, you must seek initial treatment within 14 days of your injury, or your coverage may be denied.
You Could Recover These Expenses
You may also be able to seek additional awards through the at-fault driver’s insurance provider. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, drivers must have PIP and liability insurance for property damages, but bodily injury liability insurance is not required by the state.
If financial recovery via an insurance claim is not an option, you may be able to pursue a personal injury lawsuit. You could win additional awards for:
- Your lost wages
- Your loss of future earning capacity if your hand and/or wrist injuries prevent you from returning to work
- Your vehicle damages
- Your physical pain, mental anguish, and emotional suffering
Florida’s Statute of Limitations Limits the Time You Have to Seek Damages
If you must take legal action, your case is bound by the statute of limitations. Florida Statutes § 95.11 allows four years from the time of your accident to file a personal injury lawsuit. If you do not file your case before the statute expires, the court will likely dismiss your case.
How Can a Personal Injury Lawyer Help with My Case?
To achieve a successful liability insurance settlement or personal injury verdict, you must show that another party caused your accident. When it comes to vehicle collisions, more often than not, the cause of the crash is driver error. We can help you prove another driver was committing a negligent action, such as:
- Texting and driving
- Driving recklessly
- Disobeying traffic signs and stop lights
- Driving under the influence
Our attorneys will:
- Gather evidence, including eyewitness statements, photographs, and surveillance videos
- Build a case for negligence
- Handle case-related paperwork and deadlines
- Negotiate for the maximum amount of compensation possible
- Assist you with a lawsuit if required
What Can You do Following a Car Accident?
First and foremost, if you have not sought treatment for persistent hand or wrist pain, do so immediately. Failure to seek treatment could harm your chances of receiving compensation.
File your insurance claim as soon as possible following your accident. Consider hiring our accident attorneys to help you through this process. If an insurance representative contacts you, do not say or do anything that could hurt your claim.
Be polite and answer their questions without providing details about your injuries or speculating about fault. Direct future communications to your lawyer.
Reach Out to the Law Offices of Anidjar & Levine for Help with Your Car Accident Case
Since 2006, the Law Offices of Anidjar & Levine has helped thousands of accident victims across Florida. Contact us at 1-800-747-3733 to learn more about how our personal injury attorneys can help you seek compensation for your hand and wrist injuries. A member of our team can get you started with a no-cost, no-obligation consultation.
We want to put our knowledge, experience, and resources to work for you.SPEAK TO AN ATTORNEY NOW