According to Florida law, burglary is defined as entering a dwelling or structure without permission, with the intent to commit any crime inside. The act of breaking and entering is not required in order for a burglary to be committed; merely entering into a structure qualifies as burglary.

The crime of burglary is a felony offense. There are different degrees of burglary depending on the circumstances of the crime. For example, a burglary qualifies as a first-degree felony and is punishable by imprisonment if, during the burglary, the defendant commits assault or battery on a victim, is armed with a deadly weapon, or causes property damage greater than $1000. First-degree burglary is punishable by imprisonment of up to 30 years and a $10,000 fine. On the other hand, if a defendant carries out a burglary without committing assault or battery and without a weapon, the burglary will be considered a felony of the second degree, punishable by 15 years in prison and a fine of $10,000.

A burglary charge is a serious felony and a conviction can significantly hinder your future employment opportunities, reputation and future. If you are currently facing a burglary charge in Florida, contact the criminal defense attorneys at Anidjar & Levine as soon as possible. It is essential to retain an attorney who is knowledgeable about Florida criminal law and can evaluate your particular situation, protect your rights and interests, and effectively represent you in court. Our attorneys have years of experience defending clients in a variety of criminal matters and have achieved outstanding results for our clients throughout the state of Florida. We are dedicated to providing our clients with aggressive, competent and high-quality representation.

For legal assistance regarding a burglary charge, call Anidjar & Levine, P.A. at 800-747-3733 or fill out and submit our online “Contact Us” form to schedule a free, confidential consultation with an experienced South Florida burglary defense attorney.