Do I Have To Pay Back PIP? Were you or a family member involved in a car accident, and did you rely on PIP coverage to pay your medical and disability expenses? If so, you may be concerned about whether your insurance carrier will require you to pay back PIP coverage.

As the owner of a private vehicle, you should not be required to pay back PIP use in Florida. Florida Statute 627.7405 allows insurance companies to collect from commercial vehicle owners in certain circumstances and situations though.

For a free legal consultation, call (800) 747-3733

You Cannot Register Your Vehicle in Florida Without PIP Insurance

If you own a vehicle with four wheels, you must obtain PIP insurance coverage in the state of Florida, according to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. With specific exemptions in place for military service people, everyone else who owns a car in Florida must:

  • Obtain PIP (personal injury protection) insurance coverage
  • Obtain PDL (property damage liability) insurance coverage
  • Maintain coverage, even if a car is not being driven or cannot be driven
  • Maintain unbroken coverage until a car’s license plate and tags are surrendered

Complying with the law can ensure that you, anyone riding in your car, or anyone struck by your car can seek the medical attention they need after being involved in a car accident in Florida.

Even non-residents must obtain PIP insurance. Anyone who regularly works in Florida or who has a child registered to attend school in Florida must also obtain PIP insurance. Coverage must be exchanged within ten days of starting a job or registering for school in Florida.

PIP Coverage Entitles You to Coverage After a Car Accident

PIP insurance coverage can be a lifeline when you are injured in a car accident. It can allow you to receive urgent medical care without creating a financial burden for you or your family. According to Florida Statute § 627.736, PIP will cover accident expenses that include:

  • Up to $2,500 for non-emergency medical expenses
  • Up to 80% of reasonable medical expenses
  • Up to $5,000 in funeral and burial expenses for fatalities

In most cases, you should not have to pay back PIP insurance coverage. Speak to a team member at a law firm if you have concerns about paying back PIP, or if your insurer is requesting payment from you.

Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today

Florida Puts PIP Protection in Place for a Reason

Florida puts PIP protection in place to ensure car accident victims can receive the medical care they need in the aftermath of a car accident. Find out how PIP works for you after a car accident.

If you were involved in a car accident, you are entitled to use your insurance policy’s PIP coverage for your medical and disability expenses. If a family member was killed in the accident, you are also entitled to pursue death benefits available through PIP. If your insurer is pressuring you to pay back PIP coverage, speak to a law firm right away.

You can reach the Law Offices of Anidjar & Levine at 1-800-747-3733.