What Is Considered a Hit and Run Accident? Were you the victim of an at-fault driver who fled the scene of a vehicle collision? If you or a loved one suffered an injury in a car accident, you may have the basis for a lawsuit to recover your accident-related expenses.

A car accident is a jarring experience that can leave you with serious injuries or result in the fatal injuries of a loved one. If you were involved in a car accident, the pain and suffering you endure are increased when the other driver avoids responsibility by fleeing the scene.

A traffic accident is considered a hit and run accident when either driver leaves the scene instead of staying to report the accident to the police and accept responsibility for the role they may have played in another person’s physical injuries or property loss. It is a person’s duty to give information and render aid if involved in an accident.

If you or a family member were the victims of a hit and run car accident, you may have legal recourse available to help you reach a favorable financial settlement for your accident-related expenses.

For a free legal consultation, call (800) 747-3733

Florida Law Forbids Fleeing The Scene of An Accident

The state of Florida expressly forbids what is considered a hit and run accident and has specific laws aimed at reducing the number of hit and run accidents that occur every day.

The law states that anyone involved in an accident must stop their vehicle as soon as it is safe to do so, stay at the scene, and provide the following information to other drivers and to police officers:

  • Name
  • Address
  • VIN
  • Driver’s license or permit

In addition to this information, you should also obtain a copy of the other driver’s insurance information, as well as contact information from any witnesses at the accident scene. You should also use your smartphone to take photos of your car and the accident scene.

Penalties For Leaving The Scene of An Accident

Leaving the scene of a car accident without providing information or assistance to any injured parties is a serious offense. The state imposes severe legal penalties on drivers who are involved in what might be considered a hit and run accident, including:

  • Being charged with a misdemeanor, incarceration, and up to $500 in fines for accident-related property damage
  • Being charged with a felony, loss of driving privileges, incarceration, and up to $5,000 in fines for physical injuries suffered by others in the accident
  • Being charged with a felony, loss of driving privileges, incarceration, and up to $10,000 in fines when a hit and run accident results in fatalities

These penalties are designed to make drivers aware of their responsibility to remain at the scene of an accident. It ensures accident victims receive the emergency medical care they need and identifying information that allows them to obtain insurance coverage for their physical injuries and property loss.

Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today

The Law Is On Your Side

When you are the victim of what is considered a hit and run accident, you may have other avenues available to help identify the driver who caused your injuries and hold them responsible for their actions.

When you are ready to seek legal justice and financial compensation for your injuries and property loss, speak to an attorney in your area. Contact the Law Offices of Anidjar & Levine by calling 1-800-747-3733 today.