If you were involved in a collision that wasn’t your fault, you might expect the other driver to have to pay for everything. The at-fault driver should expect to bear the brunt of the expenses. However, you should still expect to pay for your deductible, even if another driver was at fault. You may be able to request repayment later.
For a free legal consultation, call (800) 747-3733
What Is a Deductible and How Does It Work?
The deductible is the set amount of money you pay out of pocket before your car insurance policy pays for the damage to your car above that amount. For example, if you file a claim for $800 worth of car repair after an accident and your deductible is $500, you will pay $500 and your insurance will pay the additional $300.
Deductibles can range anywhere from $250 to $1,000. A lower deductible equates to more coverage under your auto insurance. Therefore, lower deductibles come with higher premiums and higher deductibles are associated with lower insurance premiums. Some insurance companies even offer the option of a $0 deductible with high premium payments.
Why Would I Pay a Deductible if I Didn’t Cause the Accident?
After a car crash, you probably want to get your car fixed as soon as possible so you can get back on the road. You probably rely on your car to get to work every day. The fastest way to get your car repaired is to take your car to a mechanic for an estimate, file a claim with your insurance company, and pay the deductible.
Both insurance companies involved will investigate the accident to determine who was at fault. This investigation could take time. That’s why you should pay your deductible even if you didn’t cause the accident. Your insurance company may be able to subrogate from the other driver’s insurance company. That means they will ask the at-fault driver’s insurer to repay them for your expenses. In that case you could recover what you paid for your deductible.
How Do Florida’s No-Fault Insurance Laws Affect Me?
Florida is a no-fault insurance state. This means that every driver in Florida is required to carry a minimum of $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. Each driver submits a claim to their own insurance company. This insurance can pay for your medical expenses and lost wages if you’re injured in a car crash.
If you were not hurt in the car accident and only need to repair your car, Florida’s no-fault insurance laws will not affect you. This insurance is for injuries and does not cover property damage.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
We Can Help You Understand Your Insurance Policy
Insurance policies are not known for being user friendly. If you’re worried about implicating yourself when you talk to your insurance company, feel free to call us first at 1-800-747-3733. Our team of car accident lawyers at the Law Firm of Anidjar & Levine offer free consultations to discuss your insurance policy and whether you can be reimbursed for your deductible.