What Do I Need to Know to Make a Car Insurance Claim? Filing an insurance claim after a car accident? Let the Law Firm of Anidjar & Levine help you build a strong claim.



To make an auto insurance claim, at the minimum, you need the facts of the car accident, such as its location, the time of day it occurred, and information about the other cars,  drivers, and their passengers, if any. You may also need a police report if there were injuries or if the other parties dispute the facts of the loss.

The Law Firm of Anidjar & Levine can answer your questions and help you file a valid insurance claim. Call us now at 800-747-3733 to arrange for a free legal consultation.

For a free legal consultation, call (800) 747-3733

What Do I Need to Do to File a Claim?

First, obtain basic information about your accident, such as:

  • The other driver’s name, phone number, insurance information, and license plate number
  • A police report of your accident
  • Photos of the damaged vehicles
  • Your medical records and expenses, if you sustained injuries from the accident
  • Documents showing ambulance transport costs, if you went to the hospital after the car accident
  • Phone numbers of eyewitnesses willing to testify on your behalf

Also, review your auto insurance policy to determine the type of coverage that may apply to your case. We can speak with you during your case evaluation about other information you might need for your claim.

Filing a Claim With Your Insurance Company

If you have less than $10,000 in costs associated with your injuries, your Personal Injury Protection (PIP) benefits cover your expenses. PIP pays a maximum of $10,000, which includes 80 percent of medical expenses and 60 percent of lost wages. To get these benefits, you must seek treatment for your injuries within 14 days after the accident. If the doctor finds you did not have an emergency medical condition, your auto insurer will only pay up to $2,500 in benefits.

Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today

Who Pays for Damages to My Vehicle?

Your collision coverage pays for repairing or replacing your vehicle if you have this optional coverage in your auto insurance policy.  Florida does not require vehicle owners to purchase collision coverage. The state only requires vehicle owners to have minimum insurance of $10,000 for bodily injury to one person, $20,000 for bodily injury to two or more people, and $10,000 property damage liability. Having collision coverage comes in handy when an accident happens.

Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now

What If My Damages Go Beyond the State Minimum Insurance Requirements?

You can file a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company to recover additional compensation or file a personal injury lawsuit. However, you need to know that your injuries must meet the criteria set by Florida law. You may only file a lawsuit if you can prove that you sustained one of the following injuries from the car accident:

  • Permanent bodily injury
  • Physical scarring
  • Physical disfigurement
  • Death

This part of the process can get complicated. For instance, the other driver may not take responsibility for causing your severe injuries, or the driver’s insurance company may contend you do not have adequate proof to show that the accident caused these injuries. So, you have a lot at stake if you cannot successfully prove your case.

How Do I Prove My Injury Claim?

Our legal team helps you collect vital evidence to build a valid insurance claim. For instance, we may gather documentation that includes the following:

  • Statements from you and your family members on how the accident impacted your life.
  • A statement from your physician on your prognosis and need for future medical care.
  • Proof through traffic camera video that shows another party caused the accident.

You must also prove that the at-fault driver’s negligence caused the accident that left you with physical injuries and vehicle damage. As required by Florida’s negligence statute, we can help you prove that:

  • The driver had a duty to drive carefully.
  • The driver breached that duty.
  • The driver’s breach of duty caused an accident.
  • The driver’s negligent actions caused you to suffer damages.

Contact Us Now!

Call the Law Firm of Anidjar and Levine today at 800-747-3733 to make an appointment for a free legal evaluation. We pursue every avenue until you get the best possible outcome for your claim.