If you get into an accident with an Uber driver, you are eligible for financial compensation just like you would be with any other collision. You have every right to recover damages incurred due to the accident; however, the legal implications can quickly become complicated.
First, if you were hit by an Uber driver, their insurance company may deny the claim because the car was being used for commercial purposes. Secondly, if the Uber driver was carrying liability insurance purchased through the rideshare company, you would have to file your claim through that channel.
If you want to sue Uber itself for the collision, again, legal matters become complex. The company can claim that the driver was an independent contractor (not an employee) and that they are not responsible for their actions or behavior. To get the compensation you need to cover the cost of your accident-related damages, you may want to consider working with a car accident lawyer who can provide more clarity.
For a free legal consultation, call (800) 747-3733
What to Do After an Accident With an Uber Driver
It’s vital to try to remain calm after an accident so you can proceed with a clear head. The things you do and say will directly impact the outcome of your case, so it’s important that you do not make any decisions that you could regret later.
Some measures that can work to your benefit include:
Filing a Police Report
You will want to start a paper trail linking your injuries to the collision as soon as possible. One of the first ways to do this is by filing a police report either at the accident scene or within 10 days to the Department of Motor Vehicles.
Under Florida Statute §316.066, you must file a police report if:
- The collision resulted in any deaths, injuries, or “complaints of pain or discomfort”
- A vehicle needed to be towed from the accident scene
- The accident involved a commercial motor vehicle
The information captured in the police report may prove useful later on. For example, the police officer may include contact information, license plate numbers, and other relevant information.
Contact our lawyers today!
Seeking Medical Attention
Not only does getting prompt medical attention benefit your physical wellbeing, but to get the benefits of personal injury protection (PIP) insurance, it’s mandatory under Florida Statute §627.736. To get the coverage offered under PIP insurance, you must seek medical attention within 14 days of the accident. If you do not, you cannot use this route of recovering compensation for your injuries.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Understanding the State’s Statute of Limitations
Florida’s law has various statutes that allow you to recover compensation when you have been in an accident. These personal injury laws are under Florida Statute §95.11, and state that you have up to four years to file a personal injury claim. It does not matter if you got into an accident with an Uber driver or another motorist, you have a limited time to act.
Call the Law Offices of Anidjar & Levine Now
If you get into an accident with an Uber driver, what happens next will depend on the steps you take afterward. Because rideshare companies are relatively new, legal precedent surrounding car accident claims is still evolving. For that reason, you may want to work with a car accident lawyer from the Law Offices of Anidjar & Levine.
We can investigate your situation, negotiate for a fair settlement through the correct legal channels, and represent your interests.
To get started with a free consultation, call the Law Offices of Anidjar & Levine today at 1-800-747-3733.