Drunk driving accidents can result in severe injuries or fatalities due to impaired mental abilities and slower response times of the at-fault driver. According to the National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration, more than 10,500 people died in drunk driving accidents in 2018 alone.
Anyone can cause a drunk driving accident that seriously injures or kills up to 30 people each day. In 2018, male drivers were found responsible for 21% of drunk driving accidents while women were responsible for 14%. On average, about one-third of all car accidents are the result of alcohol-impaired driving.
For a free legal consultation, call (800) 747-3733
How Florida Defines Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol
The effect of alcohol consumption can vary greatly from person to person. Sec. 316.193 of the Florida Statutes is clear on how it defines drunk driving. The statute states that a person is considered to be under the influence of alcohol if they are driving a car and the following conditions are met:
- Their “normal faculties are impaired”
- A blood test indicates a blood alcohol level of .08 or higher
- A breath test reveals a blood alcohol level of .08 or higher
If the driver who caused the car accident you were involved in meets any of these criteria, they may be guilty of drunk driving. A drunk driver who causes you to suffer injuries or damages your property should be held responsible. Your attorney can help you pursue the liable party and their insurance company for the financial compensation you are owed.
Penalties for Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol
Florida DUI and administrative suspension laws are serious about preventing more deaths and lessening the number of people who die in drunk driving accidents. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles reports that penalties and fines under for drunk driving include:
- $500 to $1,000 in fines and up to six months of incarceration for a first offense
- $1,000 to $2,000 in fines and up to nine months of incarceration for a second offense
- $2,000 to $5,000 in fines and up to a year of incarceration for a third offense
- $2,000 to $5,000 in fines and up to five years of incarceration for a fourth offense
In addition, a person convicted of drunk driving may also face the loss of driving privileges for a significant amount of time. Effective enforcement of these penalties had a part in decreasing how many people died in drunk driving accidents in 2018.
An Attorney Can Fight for the Financial Compensation You Deserve
If a member of your family was among the people who died in drunk driving accidents in 2018, you may benefit from speaking to an attorney in your area. An attorney can explain your available options for holding the responsible driver legally and financially accountable for the accident they caused.
Get the responsive legal care you deserve and the monetary award you are entitled to for coverage of your medical expenses caused by the drunk driver. Discuss your case with a lawyer near you by calling the Law Offices of Anidjar & Levine at 1-800-747-3733.