Ridesharing services such as Uber and Lyft allow millions of people to get around across the globe. The vast majority of these trips are completed without issue. However, rideshare accidents do occur and can cause severe injuries.
If you have sustained an injury in a rideshare accident, you’re undoubtedly wondering who will foot the bill for your medical bills and lost time at work. A Spring Hill ridesharing accident lawyer from the Law Offices of Anidjar & Levine may be able to assist you.
What Should I Do If I Get Hit by a Rideshare Driver?
If you’re in a ridesharing accident, immediately check yourself and others for injuries. If someone requires medical assistance, dial 911 right away. You should also contact the police and gather some evidence at the site to support your insurance claim or lawsuit, such as:
- License, name, and insurance information of the rideshare driver and other drivers involved in the accident
- Witnesses’ contact information
- Pictures of damages, the scene, and your injuries
- Details of the accident
You could also call the rideshare company’s customer service line to report the accident. In addition, Uber and Lyft allow riders to report the crash using the app.
For a free legal consultation with a rideshare accidents lawyer serving Spring Hill, 800-747-3733
Insurance Options Following a Rideshare Accident
To pick up passengers, rideshare drivers must have a car insurance policy that fulfills minimum Florida state coverage standards, even though rideshare companies offer some coverage to drivers in specific circumstances.
Thus, if a rideshare driver collided with you, attempt to determine if the driver was waiting for a ride request, on his way to pick up passengers, or transporting passengers at the time of the crash. When drivers use the Uber or Lyft app, that activates the company’s insurance coverage, and policy limits depend on the stage of the ride.
Basics of Rideshare Insurance
Florida Statutes § 627.748 classifies rideshare drivers as independent contractors rather than employees. In most cases, independent contractors are responsible for liability insurance. However, when rideshare drivers have the rideshare app turned on, the companies provide additional insurance.
Typically, rideshare services separate a driver’s shift into three stages:
- The driver has turned off the app. The driver’s personal automobile insurance is in effect.
- The app is open, and the driver is accessible for rides. If the driver’s policy does not apply, the rideshare providers offer some liability coverage.
- The app is on, and the driver is picking up or transporting passengers. In specific circumstances, the rideshare companies provide liability insurance up to $1 million, uninsured motorist insurance, and comprehensive and collision coverage.
Your rideshare accident lawyer in Spring Hill can investigate the crash to determine the driver’s status when the collision occurred.
Spring HillRideshare Accident Lawyer Near Me 800-747-3733
Who Is Responsible for Your Spring Hill Rideshare Accident?
Florida is currently a no-fault state. Therefore, an injured driver must seek compensation from their personal injury protection (PIP) policy, even if the rideshare driver caused the collision.
Drivers in Florida must have $10,000 in PIP coverage. This broad coverage safeguards drivers following minor collisions. However, if your expenses exceed your automobile insurance coverage limitations, you can:
- Use your medical insurance
- Pay out of pocket
- File a lawsuit against the rideshare driver or party responsible for the accident
However, to file a lawsuit in Spring Hill, your injuries must meet Florida’s threshold for serious injuries.
Serious Bodily Injury Under Florida Law
Under Florida Statutes § 627.737, your injury is serious if it meets these criteria:
- Significant loss or impairment of a bodily function
- A permanent injury
- Extensive scarring and disfigurement
Get Answers From An Experienced Attorney.SPEAK TO AN ATTORNEY NOW
Is It Possible to Sue the Rideshare Company for a Car Accident?
Insurance companies and courts usually do not hold rideshare companies responsible for accidents caused by their drivers because of their independent contractor status. However, you could file a claim against the company if it knowingly used a driver who did not meet state qualifications. For example, if Uber knew the driver had a disqualification on their driving record, you could hold the rideshare company liable.
A Spring Hill rideshare accident lawyer can assist you by:
- Determining if you have grounds for a lawsuit
- Establishing who was at fault for the accident
- Calculating the value of your rideshare injury claim
Spring Hill Rideshare AccidentsYOU CAN TRUST US 800-747-3733
When Do I Have to File a Rideshare Accident Claim?
Most victims file insurance claims immediately after a ridesharing accident. However, Florida Statutes § 95.11 gives you four years from the accident date to launch a lawsuit.
That might seem like plenty of time, but remember that memories can fade, and evidence can get lost. In addition, you might lose your right to sue for compensation for your damages if you miss the filing deadline. Therefore, you might benefit from contacting a car accident lawyer as soon as possible.
Should You Hire a Rideshare Attorney?
Rideshare injury cases can become complicated to navigate. However, a skilled attorney can handle your claim to allow you to focus on healing and getting your life back on track following an accident.
Our rideshare accident lawyers understand the ins and outs of Florida law. Thus, we can gather medical documents, write demand letters related to the accident, communicate with insurance adjusters and opposing lawyers, and represent you in court and during settlements.
Partner With Our Spring Hill Law Firm Today
Since 2006, the Law Offices of Anidjar & Levine has fought for car and rideshare accident victims. As a result, we’ve collected millions for our clients in compensation, and we’d like to do the same for you.
We will listen to your situation and discuss your legal options during your free case review. Therefore, you do not have to handle your case on your own. We’re here to take care of all your legal duties at no expense to you upfront. Contact us today to get started.
We want to put our knowledge, experience, and resources to work for you.SPEAK TO AN ATTORNEY NOW